Thy Symphony Offers Something Weird

January 23, 2009 at 10:27 pm (Metal, Music) (, , , , )

I checked my e-mail. A friend request from Thy Symphony, an open invitation to check out a new band. I’ll give any group the benefit of the doubt. I’ll listen to more than just one song knowing full well that everything a band has to offer cannot be summed up in a single. As a musician myself I’m not over-critical. I know how much dedication music takes, the difficulty of writing a song, and the nearly impossible journey of making it in the music industry.

So I figured I’d give Thy Symphony, a metal band from Sao Paulo, Brazil, a try. In trying to be most polite: I’m sorry I did. On one hand they’re not awful. I’ve heard plenty worse, and as musicians they are incredibly talented. Sounds like an equation for success? Wrong. The female vocalist belongs in a Puccini opera, not as the lead singer in Thy Symphony. My apologies to Thy Symphony, but I had trouble getting through all five songs on their MySpace page.

Overall I think Free Spirit is my favorite song. Maybe that’s because there are about 30 seconds of instrumental in the beginning which is pretty cool. But once the Camila Senne opens her mouth, I just get confused. It’s not bad, just out of place.

3 Comments

  1. Other Side said,

    Thats a pretty funny review!

  2. decibelblog said,

    Haha glad you liked it.

    ~ C.H.

  3. New and Noteworthy « Decibel Music Blog said,

    […] classical traits exist in modern music). Sometimes the mix can be rather unfortunate, like the way Thy Symphony combined opera vocals with metal. Oops! On the other hand, it can be amazingly pleasing. Ryan Calhoun, an unsigned artist based out […]

Comments are closed.

